You need to know a few things about how to renew a notary in Texas. Below is some helpful information:
Notary Commissions Are Valid For Four Years.
The notary renewal Texas is valid for four years. However, some states have different statutes governing notary commissions. The process of becoming a notary in Texas is fairly simple. First, you must fill out an online application and pay the filing fee of $11. There are several options available to you. For a new application, you may pay with a credit card, but the fee for renewing an existing commission is more complicated. If you are paying with a check, make it payable to the Secretary of State, and do not use personal checks. You may pay with an interagency transfer voucher (ITV) for renewals. The ITV must have your name and be payable to the Secretary of State.
A Notary Bond Is Required.
A notary bond in Texas is a monetary guarantee that a notary will abide by the standards of their profession and will pay out any claims from harmed parties. The bond must be at least $10,000 and be valid for four years. In case of a lawsuit, the surety will pay the claim on behalf of the principal. In case of a claim, the surety will pay the full amount of the claim unless the notary fails to repay the money to the surety.
Online Notarizations Are Allowed.
The State of Texas has recently approved remote online notarizations or RONs. This notarization involves a digital recording of the act, which must be kept in a vault for several years. Texas was one of the first states to approve RONs and is ahead of the curve. But what does it mean for you as a notary? RON services require a computer with two-way audiovisual communication capabilities. Online notarizations are also convenient, and most online notary services allow the renewal of notaries in Texas.
Class C Misdemeanors Do Not Need To Be Disclosed.
If you have ever been arrested or charged with a misdemeanor in Texas, you do not have to disclose these convictions when renewing your notary commission. Most misdemeanors fall into one of three categories based on the severity of the offense and the punishment. Although misdemeanors do not require a notary to disclose convictions, they may negatively affect your life. For example, a misdemeanor conviction can hinder your opportunities to secure a good job, attend college, or obtain an occupational license.
In Texas, misdemeanors of Class C do not need to be disclosed when renewing your notary commission. While Class B misdemeanors do not need to be disclosed when renewing your notary commission, a conviction in Class A or B misdemeanor may be. In Texas, misdemeanors of this class carry a maximum penalty of two to three years in jail.